Another intimidator down…Pie crust!

     I have NEVER made a good pie, much less a great one. I had never tasted a homemade pie that I thought was fantastic so I had little to go by, just that I didn’t care for pie. Enter, a lonely summer afternoon at the hospital with my son. He was sleeping for hours, and it was too hot to leave the hospital so I wandered into the hospital gift shop to browse the magazine rack and see if there was anything worth purchasing to read as I listened to my little boy snore into recovery. It was there I saw it. IT being the July 2010 edition of Martha Stewart Living. On the cover, was a patriotic display of berry pies. Nothing extraordinarily grand there except there was something about the crust that caught my eye. A golden, slight puffiness that shone with baked egg wash an sparkled with an ample coat of sugar crystals. Something about this crust SCREAMED that it was not dry, crumbly or bland. Instead, I just knew it was tender, flaky, buttery, moist and flavorful! My goodness, could it BE that there existed a recipe for something I could adore? It was worth a shot so I settled into the armchair next to my sweet little dreaming son and searched the glossy pages full of Martha Stewart’s (and those she meticulously hires) wisdom for the recipe for this magical tart shell! Upon finding the recipe for Pâte Brisée, I just KNEW this recipe would be different. A couple of weeks flew by and we returned home with our little miracle boy getting stronger by the day. It was the middle of the summer growing season at my local Farmer’s Market and plump, sweet blueberries were everywhere! Of course I had to get some as well as organic zucchini, broccoli, greens, beets, and early sweet corn. During the following weekend, I decided to put my new Pâte Brisée recipe and whatever pie making skills I may possess to the test and make a blueberry pie.  The result was a BEE-YOU-TEE-FULL pie that was crispy, sweet, buttery, flaky and just…wow. Wanna’ see a slice? I apologize ahead of time for the poor picture quality. I couldn’t findthe camera and had to use my cell phone before I ate the pie…

 

 I would TOTALLY type the recipe out for you, but I am exhausted and a little princess with big brown eyes needs Mama to rock her off to dreamland. HERE is the link so you can get it yourself! http://www.marthastewart.com/recipe/pate-brisee-for-summer-berry-pies

Make thyself some delicious summer berry or peach pies and let me know what you think!

*Love All, Serve All*

7 thoughts on “Another intimidator down…Pie crust!

  1. It sounds wonderful! Pastry is one of those things you either love or hate working with… Now you’re one of the people who love it, so well done you. You’ll have to post a pic when you sort your computer out 🙂

  2. Wow!It looks wonderful.Don’t you just love it when you find a pie dough recipe that really works for you :)I saw your blog from the foodie blogroll and I like reading your posts.If you won’t mind I’d love to guide Foodista readers to this post.Just add the foodista widget to the end of this post and it’s all set, Thanks!

  3. Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Vincent
    petitchef.com

  4. Hello! I found this blog in Foodista and followed it here. I’ll try this too, my pie suck every time. By the way you can place more Foodista widget in your past and future blogs so that other Foodista readers can follow and see your blog too. Just search for a related recipe or food in Foodista and use its widget. I hope to read more from you. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

