Conquering My Culinary Intimidators One Biscuit at a Time!

There are a few things that I never learned how to make. Things that my mama made rarely so I never got the exposure. As a result, I developed this fearful intimidation that these were complex and complicated recipes that required great skill and culinary knowledge. My short list: good pie crust, homemade pasta and noodles, and rolled out biscuits. Last night hubby came home and was just dying for homemade strawberry shortcake. Once I got past the rediculousness of strawberry shortcake in the middle of May (strawberries from Cali this time of the year just aren’t that special) and decided that if I were to do this, I refused to use the kind of biscuits out of a refrigerated can (SO not “Grand”).  I went to my handy-dandy resource, www.allrecipes.com and found “J.P.’s Big Daddy Biscuits”. They looked basic and I had all the ingredients so I printed it off and got to work. I’ve discovered along my internet travels, a great tip for things that need butter or fat cut into it, which is when using butter, grate the frozen butter into your dry mix. Speeds the process of cutting in, and makes it more evenly distributed. I also swapped buttermilk for milk. The result at the summit of  “Mt. Tasty-Fluffy Biscuit” was DELICIOUSNESS! They were perfect and clean tasting, lacking the metallic nastiness common in the “Grand” store-bought ones. Our pre-season strawberry shortcake was delightful and my family was all over it like brown on rice. I vow that I will NEVER buy biscuits in a can again. Now to tackle “Mt. Flakey-Buttery Pie Crust”…oh boy. I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me… now you go make some homemade biscuits.

-Love All, Serve All

5 thoughts on “Conquering My Culinary Intimidators One Biscuit at a Time!

  1. LOL I never told you making biscuits was difficult. They just have more calories in them than I generally like to make. The secret to GREAT pie curst – lard !!! Cold lard at that. I’m sure you can do it, my dear daughter.

    • nope you didn’t ever tell me that Mama…just something I developed myself since didn’t make biscuits regularly. lol They DO have loads of calories, but when Hubby wants strawberry shortcake, I’d rather not depend on the processed kind with all the junk in it. :o)

  2. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

    • Awww! Thanks SO much for your encouragment Christian! My son was in the hospital for a couple weeks and I am JUST now getting into the swing of “culinary creativity” again so look for posts to come! This week I’ll be posting a recipe for a GREAT piecrust I made last weekend!

Leave a Reply

