Noodles Galore!

I’m SOLD on homemade noodles! I really wanted to make homemade Chicken Noodle Soup for my little ones and myself. We’re hacking and blowing our way through a late spring cold and something about chicken noodle soup sounded just so scrumptious and comforting to my pounding head and my chilly bones. I was going to give myself a break from “scratch-cooking” and use dried egg noodles (you know, the kind from a box or crinkly bag) but even in my (excuse the digusting term) snotty stupor I got in my head that making noodles would be fun and be just the ticket to comforting me and my little people. I was amazed at how EASY it was! Granted, it would have been much easier to do without holding my cranky 16-month-old sickie toddler princess on my hip. It’s proof that noodle-making is so easy you can do it one-handed! So of course I HAD to share so YOU would have no excuse not to give it a whirl. This is a really good recipe, but I do have a couple others Iwill be trying and will let you know which one I like the best. Happy Noodling!

Homemade Egg Noodles

2 1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 eggs, well beaten

1/2 cup milk

1 Tablespoon softened butter

Directions:

1) In a large bowl or a stand mixer with the paddle attatchment, stir together the flour and salt.

2)In a small bowl, beat two eggs with a fork. Add the milk and mix well, then add to the bowl with the flour mixture.

3) When mixtures begins to form a ball of dough and clump together, if you are using a stand mixer, swap the paddle for the dough hook and knead the ball of dough on med-low for 5 minutes. If you are mixing by hand, when the dough ball begins to clump together, turn the dough ball out onto a clean and lightly floured surface and knead for 5 minutes.

4) Let the smooth dough ball rest in a covered bowl for 10 minutes.

5) On a freshly lightly-floured surface, roll out the dough with a rolling pin until it’s between 1/8 and 1/4 inch thick. Let this slab of dough dry for 20 minutes.

 6) At this point you can either roll up the sheet of dough  and make thin slices off the end which you will then unroll and have your long noodle, or you can “eye-ball it” and slice it into long noodles or short chunky ones.

7) Spread your noodles out to dry for 20-60 minutes. If you are using in chicken noodle soup, toss your noodles in a scant bit of flour. It will help them dry out and it will thicken your soup a bit. Yummy.

Of course I have to show you what my soup and noodles looked like so your mouth would water…

2 thoughts on “Noodles Galore!

  1. These look sooo yummy. The next time I get a cold I expect to see you at my doorstep with a pot of this same soup! 😉

Leave a Reply

